June 13, 2024

New judges for 2024 Business Travel People Awards

Three new industry experts have joined the panel of judges for the 2024 Business Travel People Awards.

Nominations are now open for the awards, which recognise individuals and teams in business travel whose professionalism and business excellence make them stand out from their peers.

Enter now

Winners in the 19 categories are selected by a panel of independent and impartial judges, who are astute and highly-respected figures representing a range of knowledge, expertise and skills from across the business travel sector.

Ensuring complete impartiality, judges are required to declare any conflicts of interest to the Judges Chair before being given access to the submissions.

Each judge is then allocated specific categories and will extensively study each entry in that category.

Joining the panel this year are:

  • Danny Cockton, Vice President, Global Travel Services at Wood PLC, and a co-founder of the People Awards. He has previously held commercial roles with Amex GBT and Agiito as well as serving ITM since 2005 in various capacities.
  • Darren Jeacock, Assistant Director in the global Supply Chain Services team at EY and Travel Supplier Manager for the Asia-Pacific and EMEIA region.
  • Francesca Mendola,  Vice President of Global Travel Collection UK and voted Rising Star in The Business Travel People Awards 2023 in recognition of her aptitude and aspirations to become a business leader of the future.

Following tradition, the Rising Star winner is invited to join the judging panel for the following year.

The panel is chaired by Leigh Cowlishaw,  Joint Managing Partner of business travel consultancy Black Box Partnerships.

“I am delighted to welcome three new judges, joining our team of well-respected and highly-experienced individuals,” said Cowlishaw.

“Being a judge for these prestigious awards involves time and commitment and there are often tough decisions to be made. I am so grateful to all of our esteemed judges for being part of the process and ensuring that the incredible people in our industry get the recognition they deserve.”

The other judges for the 2024 Business Travel People Awards are:

  • Bex Deadman, founder 8 Phase Consulting
  • Carol Fergus, Director of Global Travel, Events and Ground Transportation, Fidelity International
  • Carolyn Pearson, founder and CEO, Maiden Voyage
  • Clive Wratten, Chief Executive, Business Travel Association
  • Dani Ives, Commercial Manager, Focus Travel Partnership
  • Emma Lamb, Global Travel Safety and Security Specialist  Mitie @ Meta
  • Sonia Michaels, Head of Business Travel Services and Events, Advantage  Travel Partnerships
  • James Foice, CEO, Association of Serviced Apartment Providers
  • Jan T. Jacobsen, Global Category Director Travel & Mobility, Accenture.  
  • Juliet Price, Consultant Executive Director, Beam
  • Lee Whiteing, Commercial Director, Global Secure Accreditation
  • Lynne Griffiths, founder and CEO, Sirius Talent Solutions
  • Merv Moonien, Travel Consultant and BPS (Black Professional Scotland) Ambassador

Enter now