May 26, 2024

Shortlist unveiled for this year’s People Awards

The shortlist for The Business Travel People Awards 2021 has been announced.

The awards, which celebrate their 10th anniversary this year, will be presented at the Hilton London Bankside on the evening of Wednesday September 15, the second day of The Business Travel Conference.

There are six new categories this year, added to reflect the current environment and to recognise the achievements of as many people as possible, even those who have been furloughed or displaced.

This year, more awards are open to both individuals and teams, including teams where some of the key players might not currently be in full-time employment or might no longer be with the company.

There are four new awards dedicated to initiatives relating to Covid-19 Support, Duty of Care, Customer Wellbeing and Business Transformation.

Special recognition will go to a Change Champion Leader who has made significant and impactful change within their business, sector or in the wider industry.

A new Industry Contribution Award will be given to an outstanding leader, innovator, and influencer whose contribution, throughout their career, has bought real and positive change to the business travel industry.

For the first time, nominations were open to all sectors of the industry, except for two awards dedicated to the meetings and events sector.

“The judges had a tough job coming up with the shortlist this year,” said Kirsty Hicks, Publisher and Commercial Head Business Travel for organisers BMI Publishing.

“Despite the pandemic, there was a marked rise in the number of entries and the standards were very high, particularly in some of our new categories. Congratulations to all those who have made it through.”

Entries are being judged by an esteemed panel of industry experts led by Chair Leigh Cowlishaw, Joint Managing Partner of Black Box Partnerships, Global Supplier Partnership Director for the Advantage Travel Partnership and former Chair of the HBAA.

New to the judging panel this year is James Foice, Chief Executive of ASAP, Sonia Michaels, Head of Business Travel Services and Events at the Advantage Travel Partnership, Clive Wratten, CEO of the BTA,  and Juliet Price, Consultant Executive Director at the HBAA.

New judges from the buyer community include Carol Fergus, Director Global Travel, Meetings and Ground Transportation at Fidelity International, Ian Blackie, EMEA Travel Manager at Bloomberg, and Rod Richardson, Deputy Head of Travel EMEA at UBS.

As in previous years, judges are prohibited from judging categories where there is a conflict of interest.

The presentation ceremony this year will be a relaxed evening networking event. An early booking discounted ticket price of £75+VAT is available until June 30. From July 1 the ticket price is £95+VAT. Tickets include entrance to the networking ceremony and party, including welcome drinks and bowl food. 

Here’s the shortlist for The Business Travel People Awards 2021:

Account Management Team of the Year
Corporate Traveller
Reed & Mackay Travel
Capita Travel and Events
Click Travel

Account Manager of the Year
Amy Ashby, Inntel
Emma Horton, Synergy Global Housing
Ann Thomas, Capita Travel and Events
Trish Williams, Clarity

Operations Team of the Year
Production Team, TAG
Operations Team, ATPI
Operations Team, Reed & Mackay Travel
Continuity Team, Diversity Travel

Operations Manager of the Year
Charlotte Winter, Synergy Global Housing
Danielle Myers, TAG
Hazel Maw, Click Travel

Meetings and Events Team of the Year
Reed & Mackay Travel

Meetings and Events Manager of the Year
Jadene Cook, NYS
Dani Ives, Focus Travel Partnership

Business Transformation Initiative of the Year
TrustedStays, UnderTheDoormat
The Working Party, Reed & Mackay Travel
Sarah Wilson, ACE Travel Management
Lynne Griffiths, Sirius Talent Solutions

Covid-19 Support Initiative of the Year
Homes For NHS, UnderTheDoormat
Sirius Talent Solutions
Capita Travel and Events
Synergy Global Housing

Customer Wellbeing Initiative of the Year
Colleagues Unite, Clyde Travel Management
Covid Shield, Capita Travel and Events
Juliette Hassell, Fastrack VIP

Duty of Care Initiative of the Year
Repatriation Service, Focus Travel Partnership
Supplier Management Team, Capita Travel and Events

Best Newcomer
Amber Madden, Capita Travel and Events
Kris Kolev, SITU

Rising Star
Jennifer Cummins, Synergy Global Housing
Molly Winterton, Capita Travel and Events
Dani Ives, Focus Travel Partnership
Matt Furnell, SITU

Change Champion Leader
Katie Blount, Capita Travel and Events
Samantha McKnight, London North Eastern Railway (LNER)
Nico Nicholas, Trees4Travel
Annette Ritson, Clarity

Industry Contribution Award
Clive Wratten, Business Travel Association
James Parkhouse, Capita Travel and Events
Julia Lo Bue-Said, Advantage Travel Partnership